The Gradbach Story

Once home to a busy silk spinning mill, it has since been extensively refurbished and today boasts 16 acres of land, distinctive accommodation and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Visitors can also choose a relaxing break at our seven-bedroom Farmhouse, a tranquil hideaway full of original features that lies opposite The Mill across a wide courtyard and enjoys secluded views of the surrounding countryside.

Stay in the peaceful atmosphere today and it’s difficult to believe that the tiny hamlet of Gradbach was formerly a hive of industry, occupied by busy workers and their families. At the heart of the village lay an imposing mill building, originally constructed in 1730 and nearly destroyed by a devastating fire in the late 18th century.

It was rebuilt, and was at first used to process flax before eventually becoming a silk mill producing the wares that would support the vastly wealthy silk trades of Macclesfield and beyond. In 1880, the mill stopped silk production and was purchased by Sir John Harpur-Crewe when it became a saw mill before its closure in 1900.

Lying derelict for a period of time, it was even used as a cowshed by local dairy farmers! Then, in 1978, the site was acquired by the YHA and transformed into a hostel, welcoming hundreds of travellers over the years, all eager to explore the Dane Valley, Roaches, Lud’s Church and stunning woodland scenery.

Our setting means we are the perfect base for a holiday or short break in the Peak District where visitors can enjoy a range of outdoor pursuits including walking, cycling and fishing or to simply get away from it all. Today we cater for individual guests, large parties and corporate groups, providing modern, luxury facilities while never forgetting the proud story that made us who we are.

It’s a truly special place.